Chief Justice, Justice Olukayode Ariwoola has administered the oath of office to 11 new justice of the Supreme Court, making Nigeria’s total number of Supreme Court Justices 21, meeting the required amount.

During the swearing-in ceremony, Justice Ariwoola encouraged the just appointed justices of the Supreme Court to sustain the rule of law and stay impartial in their decisions.

The CJN enlightened the justices on the time they are being appointed, stating how their rank was at an all time low, after which he heartily welcomed them.

Justice Ariwoola also urged them not to let their personal ambition or any extraneous considerations cloud their sense of judgment, saying their conscience should be their guide.

Furthermore, he encouraged them to display firm commitment and diligence in discharging their duties while maintaining the integrity of the judiciary.

The 11 Supreme Court Justices are Haruna Tsammani (North East); Moore Adumein (South-South); Jummai Sankey (North Central); Chidiebere Uwa (South East); and Chioma Nwosu-Iheme (South East) for the apex court bench.

Others are Obande Ogbuinya (South East); Stephen Adah (North Central); Habeeb Abiru (South-West); Jamilu Tukur (North West); Abubakar Umar (North West); and Mohammed Idris (North-Central).