The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared Bayelsa State Governor, Douye Diri of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP), as the winner of the November 11 gubernatorial election in the state.

The State Returning Officer and Vice-Chancellor, Federal University of Technology, Minna, Professor Farouk Kuta made the announcement today in Yenagoa, the Bayelsa State capital.

The incumbent Governor won in six of the eight local government areas of the state while his closest rival and candidate of the All Progressives Congress, APC, Timipre Sylva, won only two local government areas.

Professor kuta, said the Governor Diri, scored 175,196 votes, to defeat his closest rival, Chief Timipre Sylva, who got 110,108 votes. The total number of registered voters is 1,056,862, while accredited voters stood at 372,000