The Socio-Economic Rights and Accountability Project (SERAP) has taken legal action against the Senate President, Godswill Akpabio, and nine other former governors who serve in the 10th Senate.


In a statement released today by SERAP’s Deputy Director, Kolawole Oluwadare, the organization disclosed its lawsuit, which has been filed at the Federal High Court in Abuja.

The respondents in this lawsuit include Abdulaziz Yari, Aminu Tambuwal, Adamu Aliero, Adams Oshiomole, Ibrahim Gaidam, Seriake Dickson, Ibrahim Dankwambo, Aliyu Wammako, Gbenga Daniel, and Dave Umahi.


SERAP’s legal action seeks an order of mandamus, compelling Mr. Akpabio, the nine other senators, and Mr. Umahi to cease collecting both salaries and pensions as senators and to return any pensions received to their respective state treasuries.


SERAP argues that the Seventh Schedule to the Nigerian Constitution of 1999 (as amended) explicitly mandates former governors to discontinue receiving both salaries and pensions and to reimburse any pension funds they have obtained.


As of now, no specific date has been set for the hearing of this lawsuit, and the matter remains pending before the Federal High Court in Abuja.