The National Emergency Management Agency (NEMA) has alerted Nigerians to expect flood in nine states as Cameroon began the release of water from its Lagdo Dam.


The states are: Adamawa, Taraba, Benue, Nasarawa, Kogi, Anambra, Edo, Delta and Bayelsa.

Director General, NEMA, Mustapha Ahmed, disclosed this over the weekend in Abuja when he briefed journalists on the release of water from the dam.


He said that the nine affected states which had communities along the banks of River Benue may be affected by the water release, which is expected to last till the end of October.


Mr Ahmed said that the recent release had led to the displacement of communities and could lead to further destruction of crops and other infrastructures.