Nigeria has lost out in the bid to co-host the 2027 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON).

The Governing body of African football, the Confederation of African Football (CAF) took the decision to deprive Nigeria and Benin Republic from hosting the AFCON tournament in Cairo, Egypt.

The hosting right was given to East African countries of Kenya, Uganda and Tanzania.

With the decision of CAF’s Executive Council members awarding the 2027 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) hosting right to Kenya, Uganda and Tanzania, East Africa would be hosting the Mondial for the first time in the history of the competition.

CAF also announced that Morocco would be the host of the 2025 AFCON edition.

Nigeria hosted the rest of Africa in in 1980 and then co-hosted the 2000 edition alongside Ghana.

East African leaders hailed the awarding of the 2027 Africa Cup of Nations to a joint bid by Kenya, Tanzania and Uganda.

Kenya’s Deputy President Rigathi Gachagua expressed his delight at the AFCON returning to East Africa for the first time since Ethiopia hosted it in 1976.