Researchers at F.U.T Minna have been advised to intensify their efforts in upholding and projecting the university’s reputation.

This advice was given on Monday during the inaugural Researchers and Inventors awards of the Institution held at the Justice Legbo Kutigi mini-hall in Minna; the Niger State Capital

The event which aims to acknowledge and reward researchers who have excelled in research and development within the university saw a number of awardees honored for their research work.

The awardees were selected based on three major criteria, including contributions to the best Q1 journals, patent achievements, and meritorious service.

In his opening remarks, the Vice-Chancellor of F.U.TMinna, Professor ADAMU Faruq KUTA, underscored the significance of the ceremony in enhancing the university’s image and ranking. He expressed hope that the ceremony would inspire younger generations to engage in research activities and generate solution-oriented research outcomes.

On his part, the Director of the Directorate of Innovation, Research, and Development (DRID), Professor Moses Olutoye, expressed his appreciation to the Vice-Chancellor for his support towards the success of the event and also urged awardees not to rest on their oars.

Professor Olutoye also encouraged non-awardees to redouble their research efforts and remain committed to their work.

In all, fourteen researchers were honored in the category of excellence and recognition, three researchers received awards in the category of excellence and achievement, seven were recognized for their patent achievements while one researcher was honored for meritorious service.

The awardees include Dr. Ismail Oyeleke Olarinoye, Dr. Jimoh Oladejo Tijani, Dr. Matthew Tikpangi Kolo, Professor Ambali Saka Abdulkareem, Professor Abdulsalami Sanni Kovo, Professor Olalekan David Adeniyi, Professor Sunday Albert Lawal, Dr. Adedipe Oyewole, Professor. Francis Ofurum Arimoro, Professor Chiemela Enyinnaya Chinma, Engr. Lukman Adewale Ajao, Dr. Caroline Omoanatse Alenoghena, Professor Mukhtar Abdulkadir and Dr. Adefami Aka.

Others recognized include Professor Onemayin David Jimoh, Professor Oluwatosin Kudirat Shittu, Engr. Dr. Sadiq Slus Lawal, Professor S. O. E. Sadiku, Professor O. K. Abubakre, Engr. B. T. Balogun, Engr. Dr. Sadeeq Abubakar Mohammed, Professor. Stephen Shaibu Ochigbo, and Professor Isiaka Amosa Gambari.