President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the establishment of the first set of 12 TETFund centres of excellence; with two in each of the six geopolitical zones of the Country.

The Director Of Physical Infrastructure Development, Tertiary Education Trust Fund (TETfund), Mr Buhari Mikailu, who made the disclosure on Monday, said the approval follows the recommendation of TETFund Board of Trustees (BOT) and the endorsement of the Honourable Minister of Education, Mallam Adamu Adamu.

Mr Mikailu added that the establishment of the centres signified a major paradigm shift in favour of Research and Excellence in Universities and as well demonstrate Federal Governments’ commitment in funding and establishing Centres of Excellence besides the ones funded by the World Bank.

The Director further revealed that the first set of the institutions would focus on research in science-based disciplines in Federal Universities while those in State Universities, Polytechnics and Colleges of Education would follow in subsequent years.

He noted that details of the operations and guidelines for the inaugural TETFund Centres of Excellence would be issued by the Fund